Psychology Research: Participants Needed!

Readers, I need your help! I am currently carrying out research for a psychology project and I need people who will participate by completing an online questionnaire.

The project is examining how personality traits and patterns of social interaction influence interracial attitudes among whites in Bermuda.  As a result, to participate in the study you should be a white resident of Bermuda and at least 18 years of age.

I would be forever grateful if you could help me with my research by completing the questionnaire and passing it on to as many of your friends, relatives, and colleagues as possible. If you are a fellow blogger, I would also appreciate it if you helped me spread the word by mentioning it to your readers and/or posting a link to the questionnaire on your site. Please note that participation in this study is completely anonymous and the questionnaire and further details can be found by clicking the following link:

Online Questionnaire

(Link above removed…Thanks for your previous participation)

If you would like to share your views in even greater detail then you are more than welcome to contact me, as well. This post will remain at the top of this page for the duration of the research process, so be sure to scroll down periodically to see if I have anything new posted. In the meantime, many thanks in advance for your valued participation and feedback.

~ by Carol-Ann Simmons on October 2, 2008.

6 Responses to “Psychology Research: Participants Needed!”

  1. Carol,

    I stopped completing the questionnaire at the first obvious error. “Bermudian” is not a nationality. As a Bermudian, my nationality is British.

    However, I did page through the questions and discovered I couldn’t answer them – the last couple of pages (question 14 on I believe) didn’t allow me to be neutral and there was no “not applicable” option for any question.

    As for the “important” questions, those dealing with race, the questions and possible answers already reflect a particular world view – one in which all whites are racists and all blacks are victims.

  2. Thanks for your feedback.

  3. Sorry but it’s simply bad experimental design. The sort of thing that you’re warned about in any first year class that even touches on experimental design (psych and stats come to mind since I remember being on the receiving end of lectures about designing experiments/questionnaires/etc. in such a manner as to avoid demonstrating your own biases).

  4. Also – this is sociology, not psychology.

  5. Bermudian is a nationality. Why wouldn’t it be. Just because some people would rather not relate themselves to be a national of a small island, it doesn’t be that isn’t a logical answer. I think that would be more of a white bermudian answer than what you would hear from a black bermudian.

    This island definitely has it’s divides, and I tend to see it more in the expat community, where you have whites that think differently about the black bermudians. Many whites would complain that they are looked upon as racist when they are not, and I agree that this is somewhat wrong. I don’t feel that there is hate for each other on the race spectrum, it’s just misunderstanding. No matter how we are thought to be equal, people do things differently, react differently, think differently, and it’s this that gives off a racists perspective as whites may not be able to fully understand blacks and vice versa.

    Being raised in Canada I am used to a very multicultural way of life, and was very interested in learning how bermuda deals with this.

    I found it funny that I would walk down the street, and blacks would always greet me, maybe have a small conversation and for the most part be very friendly towards me. When you pass a white person on the street, they have an unusually snobby type of way or pretending no one else exists and go amongst their business. I would understand how black would feel insulted by this and after seeing it every day have a negative opinion.

    Funny enough however, a lot of white bermudians (not by marriage) tend to not be as bad as the white expats, which makes me think that the whole issue of race is more of an issue between bermudians of any colour and white expats.

  6. Maybe sDot should try and be more accepting of cultural differences in the expat community (black, asian and white). The obvious friendliness of Bermudians is a fantastic part of the culture but it is not universally shared. Often expats come from cultures which are traditionally more reserved – it doesn’t make them racist! Crude distinctions and flippant observations like those shared by sDot are unhelpful and perpetuate racism.

Leave a Reply

 
