Bad Girl meets Bad Boys…

Yes, I’ve been a bad girl, haven’t I?

Here it is I’ve started a blog and haven’t even blogged for days after my intial post. But I do have an excuse. A good one. Over the past few days, I’ve been busy studying and doing research for a project. (Okay! I admit it! I still could have managed to jot something down!)

Well, let’s see if I can redeem myself by sharing a little something I happened upon this week when reading one of my fav online magazines. (Is that what you call an “e-zine”? Hmmmm…I’ll have to look that up.)

Anyhoo (my fav word…you’ll see this pop up several times throughout this blog, so take note!)…I love watching modern or contemporary dance and am known to pop over to New York near to the New Year to not only overdose on my usual trips to the theatre, but to specifically catch the Alvin Ailey American Dance Company’s special performance during that time of the year. I absolutely LOVE them. Come to think of it, I think I read that it’s their 50th anniversary this year, so it’s sure to be a coup to catch one of their performances before the end of the year.

However, I was excited to hear about this all male dance group called the Bad Boys of Dance. They look fantastic, judging from the video samples, and I MUST see them live!

Have a look for yourself:

This has me thinking that I do wish we had more male dancers in Bermuda. There is, no doubt, an unhealthy stereotype that young men and boys have about men dancing. Many of them think it is too girly and that they will not be seen as masculine if they get into it. I sense people, in general, share this stereotypical view and it further explains why more parents don’t, perhaps, encourage their sons to take on modern dance, either. That’s unfortunate, but I applaud the young men who do choose to pursue dance in Bermuda. There are great opportunities for those who work at it and demonstrate genuine talent and skill.

Okay, hopefully, I’ve redeemed myself and I promise tomorrow I shall write something a bit more cerebral. How’s that?

~ by Carol-Ann Simmons on August 24, 2008.

 
